住屋往往是我們生活的必需品,而物業亦是我們大多數人一項巨大的生活開支之一。隨著我們不同的人生階段,我們對物業的需求亦不斷增長和改變。同時,隨著整體人口的不斷增加,這種增長和變化亦有利於房地產市場的持續發展。

這就是為什麼房地產一直是對抗通脹的主要投資工具,為經濟的高高低低,提供一個安全的避風港,即使是在近期的經濟動盪時代,房地產都可以發揮其避風港的作用。房地產投資者往往能夠受惠於物業的有形性質,以及其價值的穩定增長。因此,房地產吸引了大量私人投資者、風險資本家,以及一些管理如REITs,與房地產有關的衍生基金經理,去專注物業投資和地產發展。在過去十年,房地產市場已經得到非常蓬勃的發展。

這裡有一些很充分的理由說明你為什麼應該把地產投資加到你的投資組合:

安全性和穩定性
如同任何投資一樣,物業投資也不能有任何保證。然而,由於房地產的有形性質,房地產投資確實提供了更大的安全性,而且,物業市場通常比其他類型的投資市場更具可預見性。房地產市場的變化規模是比較溫和緩慢,相比如股票市場,它可以在幾天,甚至幾小時內發生巨大變化。縱觀市場走勢、利率以及當地經濟狀況,我們將可以對物業的未來價值走向有一個較為宏觀的預視。

升值的走向
房地產幾乎總是在升值,如果不能在短期內實現,長遠來說仍能保持升值。當然,你要小心選擇在正確的位置和合適的時間選擇理想的物業。在經濟受重挫的地區投資價格過高的房地產,從長遠來看都不可能會獲得收益。因此,這就是為什麼你需要進行研究和最好尋求專業人士的意見。

資本流動能力的特性
雖然對證券(如股票)來說,我們可以利用其他人的資金(貸款)來為自己賺錢,但是,其實對房地產來說,這樣做會更加容易。走到銀行,然後為物業獲得抵押貸款,是一件司空見慣的事,然而,針對證券來借錢投資是非常困難的,而且我們很可能只借得較少的資金(如果有的話),同時利息亦會較高。銀行也會傾向視出租物業為一個穩定的收入來源,因此我們可以利用物業來獲得更多資金以用於進一步投資。

抵抗衰退的特性
房產投資可以用來有效對抗經濟衰退,由於住房是一種基本需要,因此無論是在經濟向上還是向下的情況下,出租物業都可以提供一個穩定的現金流。同時,請記住當我們的物業價值下降時,而我們實際上沒有出售該物業,都不代表我們在金錢上有損失,我們可以總是等待市場低迷情況結束並同時享受租金收入。然而,這種情況並不適用於股票市場,例如,如果一家公司倒閉,在這種情況下,我們所持的股票便會有實際損失。

更多投資方式的選擇
物業投資方式有許多選擇,我們可以把它出租、獲取抵押貸款、在市場適合時出售,或者當出售價格理想時出售我們當前的家園。另外,對於我們如何投資於房地產,也可以有很多選擇。簡單包括修復出售、買入持有、短線出售、興建出售、商用物業和土地開發等等。

地產成功投資計劃的四大支柱
儘管房產是一個很好的投資工具,但並不是一個簡單的事。在投資房地產時,除了考慮每所房地產的具體狀況和回報能力之外,我們還需應考慮:投資策略投資地點進場時間分散風險 等成功投資計畫的四大支柱。

投資策略
投資策略是根據我們的投資目的、風險承受能力和資本能力(我們有多少資金可以利用),來選擇並投資於特定地區的某些地產類型,並在我們的整體投資組合中分配不同類型的物件比例,以達到我們的投資目標。

投資地點
投資房地產必須注意有關的當地市場,我們不希望在失業情況嚴重的地區投資房地產,因為這意味著有更多的待售物業,價格低殘,而且買家不足。我們投資各種類型的房地產時需要考慮地域因素,例如地方政府的政策,發展規劃、經濟趨勢、人口分析,該地區的主要商業活動,連接主要工作區域的交通規劃、公用事業,以及其他地區因素等等。

進場時間
進場時間確實十分重要,投資的時間點是任何投資工具都要考慮的主要因素之一,而在房地產投資計劃中亦同樣重要。不要忘記,公寓每月都有管理費用,屋頂每十五至二十年都需要更換。多少年的租金收入才可以讓我們的投資成本回本,或至少能拿回一半的投資成本?在開始進行房地產投資之前,請根據你的投資目的和目標、盈利能力,成本取得的費用以及維修成本等等,在投資初期就要決定您打算持有該投資物件的時間長度的計畫。

買入或賣出的時機也十分重要,比如在一個經濟前景看好或目前有較低抵押貸款利率的市場,在上漲之前或期間進行地產投資買入物件是一個非常好的時機。又或者在一個新的大型機構將要搬到該地區, 所以在不久的將來將會有更多新的就業機會,這時在新公司附近購入適合的物件,都是一個很好的主意。我們希望在買方市場時購入地產,在賣方市場時出售物業,那就是最好的時機。

分散風險
多元化投資是管理投資風險的有效途徑之一,當我們從事證券投資如股票、債券和共同基金的同時也應加入地產的投資,以獲得風險分散,均衡的投資組合。

在房地產的投資組合中,也應考慮地區風險、市場風險和資金風險。在不同地區投資於不同類型的地產物件便非常重要。例如:投資在多倫多的大樓公寓同時也在彼得堡湖邊投資一個可出租的度假屋,獲取短期較高的租金收入,在市場上漲時可同時出售獲利,下跌時湖邊物件較為抗跌仍有較多時間出售獲利,而多倫多公寓則可選擇出租, 大都市經濟條件較好市場較快回溫,在等待下一次的市場復甦的時繼續享有租金收入。與此同時,你的投資組合中,亦可以投資於一些獲得持續收入的物業,如在彼得堡出租學生宿舍等抗跌物件,以賺取長期回報。

正如任何投資一樣,任何物業都不能保證收益,因此不斷學習投資的知識是非常重要的。隨著房地產市場愈趨複雜,以及投資者面對的諸多投資選擇時,記得向房地產投資專家,如房地產代理、律師、註冊會計師,以及抵押貸款代理等等,尋求指導及協助是十分重要的。

歡迎您隨時與我們聯繫,我們將非常樂意與您討論目前的房地產市場走勢和您的投資計劃,能協助您實現房地產投資獲利的目標是我們的榮幸。

Ready for a Profitable Year?

Create a Property Investment Plan 

A roof over our heads is a necessity of life, and property is one of the largest life expenses for most of us, as our property needs grow and change through the stages of our lives. Along with a continued overall increased population, this growth and change contribute to an ongoing general growth in the real estate market.  

Among many other reasons, that is why the property has long been one of the major investment vehicles against inflation, remaining a safe haven for investment through the highs and lows of the economy, even in recent tumultuous economic times. Real estate investors benefit from the tangible nature of property and its stable growth in value. As a result, it has attracted large numbers of private investors, venture capitalists, mutual fund managers with derivative products in the security market like REITs, focusing on property investment and property development, which has been booming in the past decade.

Here are some good reasons why you should also add property investment to your portfolio:

Security and Stability
As with any investment, there is no guarantee in property investment. Though Real Property does provide more of a sense of security due to its tangible nature, and the property market is generally more predictable than other types of investments. The scale of change in the property market is a lot milder and slower in time than for instance the stock market, which can change dramatically in days or even hours. Looking at market trends, interest rates, and local economic conditions, we will have a rough idea of where a property’s future value is heading.

Appreciation
Real estate almost always increases in value sooner or later, if not in the short term, then in the long term. Of course, you want to be careful to choose the right property in the right location, at the right time. Investing in an overpriced property in an area where the economy is tanking likely won’t pay out in the long run, which is why you need to do your research and ideally get the advice of a professional.

Capital Liquidity Ability
Although with securities (e.g. stocks) we can also leverage other peoples’ money (a loan) to make money for ourselves, it’s a lot easier in real estate to do so. It’s commonplace to go to the bank and get a mortgage on a property, but borrowing money for securities investments is much harder, we are likely to get less money (if any), and the interest will be higher. Banks will also look favorably upon rental properties as a steady income stream that we can leverage to get even more money for further investment.

Recession Resistance
Property investments can be structured to be effectively recession resistant. Since housing is a basic need, the
rental property offers a steady cash flow in both upward and downward markets. Remember also that a drop in our property’s value doesn’t have to translate to a monetary loss until we actually sell our property, so we can always wait out a market downturn while enjoying the streams of rental income. This isn’t so for stocks, for example, because if a company goes out of business, it is, by default, out of business for good.

Options
Many options are available for what we can do with our property. We can rent it out, get a mortgage, sell when the market is right, or sell our current home and move in if the selling price is good for our current home. There are also a lot of options for how we can invest in real estate. A short list includes fix-up sell, buy and hold, short sales, build to sell, commercial properties, land development and more.

The Four Pillars of a Successful Property Investment Plan
Even though real estate property is a good investment vehicle, it is not necessarily easy. When investing in real estate, besides considering each property’s physical condition and profitability, we need to take into account the four pillars of a successful property investment plan: Investment Strategy, Location, Timing and Risk Diversification.

Investment Strategy
Investment strategies are tailored according to our investment purpose, risk tolerance and capital capability (how much capital we have access to), to select and invest in certain types of property in specific areas, and assign different types of property a ratio within our overall investment portfolio in order to reach our investment goals. 

Location
In real estate investment, it’s all about local markets. We don’t want to invest in real estate in an area that’s about to have a large percentage of the workforce laid off, as there will be more properties for sale and they will sell at lower prices with fewer buyers. We need to consider location factors when investing in each type of real estates such as local development plans, economic trends, population analysis, major new businesses in the area, and how commutable a property is to major work areas, utility and Internet connections, and more location factors.

Time of Investment
Time does matter. As Time is one of the major factors in any plan, it is also important in a property investment plan.  Don’t forget, there are condo fees monthly, roofs need to be replaced in about 15 -20 years. How many years of rental income will cover our capital cost or at least half of it?  Decide how long you plan to keep the ownership of any particular investment property right in the beginning of your investment according to your investment purpose and goals, profitability and the cost of maintenance. 

The timing of buying or selling is essential too. It will be a good idea to invest before or during a likely market upswing related to a beneficial economic outlook or lower mortgage interest rate, or new jobs in the near future if a new big company is about to move to the area. We want to buy in a buyer’s market, as they say, and sell in a seller’s market.

Risk Diversification
Diversifying our investments is one of the most effective ways to manage investment risk. When we invest in securities like stocks, bonds, mutual funds, etc., it’s always a good idea to also diversify our investment in properties for a balanced portfolio.

Even within our property investment portfolio, diversifying our investment in different types of property and in different areas are also important in consideration of location risk, market risk, and capital risk. For example: Investing in a Toronto condo and a Peterborough fix-up sell for a short-term profit.  At the same time, part of your portfolio can be directed at investing in income-producing properties like rental apartment buildings or student rentals in Peterborough or any other good location for long-term profit. 

As an investment, there is no guarantee of the profitability of any property, so educating ourselves is extremely important. With the litany of complexities in the real estate market, and the many options available to investors, it is important to dive into property investment with the guidance and assistance of property investment professionals like Realtors, Lawyers, CPAs, and Mortgage brokers, etc. 

Please feel free to contact us anytime and it will be my pleasure and privilege to discuss with you, your current property market trends and your investment plan.  We would love to help you achieve a profitable property investment portfolio.